Grieg: Piano Concerto in A minor // RICHTER

201.5 K


The Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16, composed by Edvard Grieg in 1868, was the only concerto Grieg completed. It is one of his most popular works and among the most popular of all piano concerti. The concerto is in three movements: 0:00 I. Allegro molto moderato (A minor) 12:41 II. Adagio (D-flat major) 18:54 III. Allegro moderato molto e marcato – Quasi presto – Andante maestoso (A minor → F major → A minor → A major) The first movement is noted for the timpani roll in the first bar that leads to a dramatic piano flourish. The movement is in the Sonata form. The movement finishes with a virtuosic cadenza and a similar flourish as in the beginning. The second movement is a lyrical movement in D-flat major, which leads directly into the third movement. The third movement opens in A minor 2/4 time with an energetic theme (Theme 1), which is followed by a lyrical theme in F major (Theme 2). The movement returns to Theme 1. Following this recapitulation is the 3/4 A major Quasi presto section, which consists of a variation of Theme 1. The movement concludes with the Andante maestoso in A major, which consists of a dramatic rendition of Theme 2 (as opposed to the lyrical fashion with which Theme 2 is introduced). Performance time of the whole concerto is usually just under 30 minutes. Performed by Sviatoslav Richter (piano), Lovro Von Matacic (conductor) and Monte Carlo National Opera Orchestra (1974)

Published by: PianoCzarX
Published at: 4 years ago
Category: فیلم و انیمیشن